Welcome to

Castile and León

spotlight on Castile and LEÓN

Segovia Aquaduct

Castile has had an enormous impact on Spanish history and culture, and by extension Spanish culture in other parts of the world (Latin America in particular). The Castilian language has become the standard in both Spain and overseas. In fact, Castilian and Spanish are the same language. The region boasts a large number of historical and natural attractions. The region consists of the provinces of Ávila, Burgos, Palencia, Segovia, Soria and Valladolid, and is part of the Autonomous Community of Castile and León.

Salamanca city view

With roots back to the 900s, León consists of the provinces of León, Salamanca and Zamora. While now part of Castile and León, this area has a distinct culture of its own. it has traditionally had its own language (Leonese), although most people in the region speak Spanish, with only a small number of Leonese speakers remaining.

Spanish Charm

Considered by many to be the cradle of Spanish civilization, Castile and León offer plenty of breathtaking historical and natural sites for visitors. From magnificent cathedrals and extremely well preserved Roman ruins to rustic villages with cobblestone streets, the region offers visitors a taste of classical Spain.

Historical and Modern - Spanish Style

Segovia, Salamanca, Burgos, Ávila ... Castile and León offers a multitude of fascinating cities and towns to visit. Each has its own charm and attractions. Castile and León is home to eleven UNESCO World Heritage sites, giving it the honour (alongside Italy's Lombardia region) of being the region with the most such designations in the world.

Castile and Leon flag, autonomous community of Spain. Vector illustration.